HUNTING: The Iowa Department of Natural Resources announced that hunters are not permitted to hunt in the state.
Hunting is allowed only during designated hunting seasons.
Hunting season is December through March.
All hunters must have a hunting license and pay a fee.
The state says hunters must be 18 years old or older to hunt.
The Iowa State Patrol is also asking hunters to be courteous when hunting.
The hunter must follow all rules for hunting and the public can be warned about possible violations at a toll-free number.
Camping: Iowa prohibits camping, but some hunters are allowed to leave campgrounds.
Hunting in state parks and other open areas is allowed.
Allowed camping hours are 8 a.m. to 10 p.m., Monday through Saturday, and 11 a.c. to 5 p.p.m.; camping hours vary from state to state.
The campground is open only during hunting season.
Campgrounds are open on a first-come, first-serve basis.
Iowa is one of five states that prohibits people from taking advantage of hunting licenses issued by other states.
In Minnesota, hunters are banned from taking the licenses of others.
Campfires and campfires of any kind are not allowed on state lands.
Campfire bans are not in effect in the Dakotas, but they are in effect throughout most of the Great Plains and Midwest.
The ban does not apply to hunting or fishing in national parks.
HUNTING/CAMPING BAN: In Iowa, all hunters and those hunting on the state’s land must be at least 18 years of age.
Hunters must carry a hunting permit when hunting or camping.
The maximum age is 21.
Hunting permits can be purchased online or at any Iowa state wildlife or wildlife management office.
Hunters are not required to provide ID to enter a hunting range or campground.
The law does not require anyone who has not been convicted of a felony to have a valid hunting license.
Hunting licenses are not valid for those under the age of 18, but a hunting or trapping permit may be issued for those age 18 and over.
Anyone who violates the ban is subject to fines and/or criminal penalties.
Hunting license holders must be on active duty in the armed forces.
The Department of Transportation also requires hunters to carry a valid driver’s license.
The agency says those without a valid license will not be able to drive.
Anyone under 18 years is not allowed to bring a bow and arrow to a hunting area.
Hunters who have an Iowa hunting license are allowed, but hunters not issued a hunting/campground license are not.
The ID requirement does not affect hunting licenses for hunters with permits from other states or international hunters.
The license may be used by hunters and their guests, but those with a valid Iowa hunting or campgrounds permit are not able to use it to hunt or camp.